cover image of Scare the Light Away

Scare the Light Away

by Vicki Delany

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to small-town Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother's funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she's left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit home to be short. but then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war bride with a young baby who came to Canada to join a husband she scarcely knew. Rebecca (and the reader) find her heart wrung by her mother's story.


Meanwhile, a young girl has gone missing, and the suspicions of the townspeople fall on Rebecca's handsome, charming brother Jimmy. Before long, violence threatens and Rebecca must put aside some long-held grievances to protect Jimmy and find the real killer.


This debut novel will appeal to readers of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs and Pip Granger's Not All Tarts Are Apple and its sequels, evoking admiration, respect, and sympathy for members of The Greatest Generation, both English and Canadian.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Imprint:
Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date:
2012

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 916.7 KB
  • Open EPUB eBook 911.5 KB

Vicki Delany (Author)

Having taken early retirement from her job as a systems analyst in the high-pressure financial world, Vicki Delany is settling down to the rural life in bucolic Prince Edward County, Ontario where she rarely wears a watch. Among the Departed is th...

More about Vicki Delany
Scare the Light Away
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free