We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of If You Come Softly

If You Come Softly

Twentieth Anniversary Edition

by Jacqueline Woodson Author · Jorjeana Marie Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children's Literature Jacqueline Woodson—now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author
Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together—even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

Jacqueline Woodson's work has been called "moving and resonant" (Wall Street Journal) and "gorgeous" (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering "why" and "if only . . ."

Publication Details

Publisher:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Imprint:
Listening Library (Audio)
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 102 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 102 MB

Jacqueline Woodson (Author)

JACQUELINE WOODSON is the 2014 National Book Award Winner for her New York Times bestselling memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award, a Newbery Honor Award, the NAACP Image Award and the Sibert Honor ...

More about Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson (Narrator)

JACQUELINE WOODSON is the 2014 National Book Award Winner for her New York Times bestselling memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award, a Newbery Honor Award, the NAACP Image Award and the Sibert Honor ...

More about Jacqueline Woodson

Creators

Author :
Jacqueline Woodson
Narrator :
Jacqueline Woodson
Narrator :
Jorjeana Marie
Narrator :
Guy Lockard
If You Come Softly
Copy and paste the code into your website.