We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of The Space Trilogy – Complete Collection

The Space Trilogy – Complete Collection

Out of the Silent Planet + Perelandra (Voyage to Venus) + That Hideous Strength: The Cosmic Trilogy

by C. S. Lewis


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
This carefully crafted ebook: "THE SPACE TRILOGY – Complete Collection: Out of the Silent Planet + Perelandra (Voyage to Venus) + That Hideous Strength" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. The "Space Trilogy" dealt with what Lewis saw as the dehumanizing trends in contemporary science fiction. The first book, Out of the Silent Planet, was apparently written following a conversation with his friend J.R.R. Tolkien about these trends. Lewis's main character Elwin Ransom is based in part on Tolkien, a fact to which Tolkien alludes in his letters. The second novel, Perelandra, depicts a new Garden of Eden on the planet Venus, a new Adam and Eve, and a new "serpent figure" to tempt Eve. The story can be seen as an account of what might have happened if the terrestrial Adam had defeated the serpent and avoided the Fall of Man, with Ransom intervening in the novel to "ransom" the new Adam and Eve from the deceptions of the enemy. The third novel, That Hideous Strength, develops the theme of nihilistic science threatening traditional human values, embodied in Arthurian legend. Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic and lay theologian. He is best known for his fictional work, especially The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia and The Space Trilogy

Publication Details

Publication Date:


  • OverDrive Read 0.9 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 0.9 MB
The Space Trilogy – Complete Collection
Copy and paste the code into your website.