The Complete Poetry of James Joyce

ebook The Collections Chamber Music, Pomes Penyeach and Other Poems from the Author of Ulysses, Dubliners, Finnegans Wake & A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

By James Joyce

cover image of The Complete Poetry of James Joyce

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

This carefully crafted ebook: "The Complete Poetry of James Joyce" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Chamber Music is a collection of poems by James Joyce, originally composed of thirty-four love poems. Although it is widely reported that the title refers to the sound of urine tinkling in a chamber pot, this is a later Joycean embellishment, lending an earthiness to a title first suggested by his brother Stanislaus and which Joyce had come to dislike: "The reason I dislike Chamber Music as a title is that it is too complacent." Pomes Penyeach is a collection of thirteen short poems written by James Joyce. It was written over a twenty-year period from 1904 to 1924. Although paid scant attention on its initial publication, this slender volume has proven surprisingly durable, and a number of its poems continue to appear in anthologies to this day. James Joyce (1882-1941) was an Irish novelist and poet, considered to be one of the most influential writers in the modernist avant-garde of the early 20th century. Content: Chamber Music Pomes Penyeach Hue's Hue? or Dalton's Dilemma Buy a book in brown paper As I was going to Joyce Saint James' Father O'Ford Humptydump Dublin squeaks through his norse Pennipomes Twoguineaseach Pour la rîme seulement A Portrait of the Artist as an Ancient Mariner Have you heard of one Humpty Dumpty Goodbye Zürich, I must leave you O, it is cold and still—alas! She is at peace where she is sleeping There was a kind lady called Gregory There was a young priest named Delaney There is a weird poet called Russell Have you heard of the admiral There once was a Celtic librarian I said: I will go down to where Though we are leaving youth behind The flower I gave rejected lies O, there are two brothers, the Fays C'era una volta, una bella bambina Dear, I am asking a favour The Holy Office Gas from a Burner There is a young gallant named Sax Claude Sykes Solomon Now let awhile my messmates be ...

Available to buy

Amazon logo
The Complete Poetry of James Joyce