cover image of The Changes Trilogy

The Changes Trilogy

The Devil's Children, Heartsease, and The Weathermonger · The Changes

by Peter Dickinson


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

In this breathtaking collection of three dystopian novels, award-winning author Peter Dickinson imagines a world where man has rejected technology
Something has gone very wrong in England. In a tunnel beneath Wales one man opens a crack in a mysterious stone wall, and all over the island of Britain people react with horror to perfectly normal machines. Abandoning their cars on the roads and destroying their own factories, many flee the cities for the countryside, where they return to farming and an old-fashioned life.

When families are split apart and grown-ups forget how they used to live, young people face unexpected challenges. Nicola Gore survives on her own for nineteen days before she's taken in by a Sikh family that still remembers how to farm and forge steel by hand. Margaret and Jonathan brave the cold and risk terrible punishment in order to save a man's life and lift the fog of fear and hate that's smothering their village. And Geoffrey and his little sister, Sally, escape to France only to be sent back to England on a vital mission: to make their way north to Wales, alone, and find the thing under the stones that shattered civilization—the source of the Changes.
Prolific author Peter Dickinson was known for "keeping up a page-turning pace" (The Guardian), and these adventure-packed novels are some of his most important contributions to science fiction.
This ebook features an illustrated personal history of Peter Dickinson including rare images from the author's collection.

Publication Details

Open Road Media
Open Road Media Teen & Tween
Publication Date:
The Changes


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe PDF eBook 6 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 3.1 MB

Peter Dickinson (Author)

Peter Dickinson was born in Africa but raised and educated in England. From 1952 to 1969 he was on the editorial staff of Punch, and since then earned his living writing fiction of various kinds for children and adults. His books have been publish...

More about Peter Dickinson
The Changes Trilogy
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free