cover image of Adoration


by Doris Lessing


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

This collection of four novellas includes 'The Grandmothers', on which 'Adoration', a major film starring Naomi Watts and Robin Wright, is based. (Please note, this collection was previously published as 'The Grandmothers'.)

'The Grandmothers' is the story of two women who meet as schoolgirls and, in later life, live next-door to each other as neighbours. When their marriages collapse, each finds herself infatuated with the other's son. This is a searingly intimate portrait of an unconventional extended family and the lengths to which people will go to find happiness and love. It is a ruthless dissection of the veneer of middle-class conventions that manages to be at once universal and heartbreakingly personal.

With 'The Grandmothers', as well as the other novellas in this collection -- 'Victoria and the Staveneys', 'The Reason for It' and 'A Love Child' -- Doris Lessing proves once again that she is one of our most valuable and insightful living authors.

Publication Details

HarperCollins Publishers
Fourth Estate
Publication Date:


  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 962.1 KB

Doris Lessing (Author)

Doris Lessing is one of the most important writers of the twentieth century and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature 2007. Her first novel, 'The Grass is Singing', was published in 1950. Among her other celebrated novels are 'The Golden Note...

More about Doris Lessing
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free